Wedding Day

 

15310960_10157786085100075_457214629_o
Enkishon Garden – Limuru

Friends of mine from Europe and other places not Africa have always asked to know about the African Wedding. I am not sure about that, but for me, a wedding is just a wedding. There is not much difference, if you are doing a wedding in Africa or in Europe or somewhere in Asia, the plan is that the groom gets to leave with the bride. So my friends where here for my wedding, Hagen, Christine and Joerg, and it was a wonderful time.

By many standards, our wedding was really simple. By simple i mean that we tried as much as possible to do everything within our budget and since we are not rich, trust me, that was simple enough. The last week of the wedding is usually very busy for the couple, I spent my week touring around in and out of Nairobi. The day before the wedding we went to Stella’s house, my sister…..and for the time we were there attended a Garmin workshop by Joerg…….(not a real workshop) played Bao game with hagen and carried the table to my apartment. Then we went to the Helipad of Jomo Kenyatta Convention Centre, and we could see from far how fast the rain was running towards the city. I later went for a shave, which ended up taking a lot of evening time which is always a problem when you have white people around you and are not sure about the time estimates.

I woke up at 5:45am to the singing of the birds, what a day. It was a wet morning and the earth was still recovering from the pour of last night. My errand of the day  mainly to get married that day, but there were challenges I needed to win to get there. First I had to return Stella’s car, I have been using it for some days and this day she needed it, which meant I was without transportation and I had to look for alternatives. I also needed to know how my mother will get to Westlands, the place where she was supposed to pick the lady I was marrying. I needed to be in Limuru without defects, the venue of my wedding and for some reason, everybody’s eyes were staring at me so I had to be at my best behaviour.

I always want to keep my head busy, especially on a day like this being busy takes my mind out of stuff. Today, I chose to be in my leaders meeting, which for a reason is being held in Limuru. I was surrounded by love from many people as I prepared for this day. Breakfast, prayer and fellowship started the day. Then I was in my suite with my best man, best friend on my side and when I looked outside I could see the car carrying the bride parked. A few steps outside was the grounds, looking amazing and decorated, and the guests were starting to walk in, others already seated. So I had to do a loong walk to the altar,before the bride could follow later.

There infront of people we exchanged our vows, and we were married. Together with our loved ones we enjoyed a day of dancing, eating and talking, something really common in an African wedding. So when you ask me how an African wedding is like, am still not sure, not different from Asia, or a village in South of France or downtown Zurich. For me, a wedding is just a wedding. I have been married seven days now, I have an early morning flight tomorrow for my honeymoon so please, allow me to catch some sleep.

 

#NaomiWedsDavid

Author: davidaswani

ati Aswani IMG_9441 I am an enterprise consultant, a creative and a tech enthusiast. Am also undertaking my certification in network security at the Cisco Academy. In my spare time, I improve my skills through training’s, tech gatherings and networking. Some of the things that am passionate about is traveling, art, volunteering and cycling, those are the things that keep my blood circulating.

1 thought on “Wedding Day”

Leave a Reply

